Introduction
Between June and September 2026, three flagship large language models were released sequentially: DeepSeek V4.1 Flash, GPT-5.6 Sol, and Claude Opus 5. Developed by DeepSeek, OpenAI and Anthropic respectively, these three products adopt vastly different routes in terms of open-source licensing, architectural design and commercial pricing. DeepSeek V4.1 Flash supports 100 trillion tokens under the MIT license. It features 55.2B total parameters, with 8B activated during input encoding and 16B activated for output decoding. Its peak output price is set at 8 US dollars per million tokens. GPT-5.6 Sol entered preview on June 26, 2026, with full public release on July 9, and its API pricing is 20 US dollars per million output tokens. Claude Opus 5 launched on July 24, with output pricing at 25 US dollars per million tokens.
In unified DeepSWE v1.1 benchmark tests, the three models achieve scores of 74.2, 73.0 and 74.0. The results are nearly indistinguishable. However, on high-difficulty reasoning benchmarks such as HLE and Terminal-Bench 4.0, Claude Opus 5 holds an advantage exceeding 15 percentage points. This article compares the three models across six dimensions: architecture, benchmark performance, pricing, reasoning intensity, ecosystem and compliance. All analysis relies on official documentation, technical reports and third-party platform datasets, and concludes with model selection guidance based on real business scenarios.
Core Profile of The Three Models
All three models hit the market in the second half of 2026, positioning Agent programming as their primary capability, yet their market positioning carries obvious distinctions.
| Item | DeepSeek V4.1 Flash | GPT-5.6 Sol | Claude Opus 5 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vendor | DeepSeek | OpenAI | Anthropic |
| Release Date | 2026-09-10 | Preview: 2026-06-26, Public Release: 2026-07-09 | 2026-07-24 |
| Positioning | Small-size model in new architecture series, successor of V4 Pro | Flagship of GPT-5.6 family, with Sol/Terra/Luna three-tier hierarchy | Anthropic primary flagship, tiered below Fable 5.1 |
| Parameters | 55.2B MoE, activate 8B for input / 16B for output | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Context / Max Input | 1M / 384K | 1.05M (max input 922K) /128K | 1M /128K |
| Image Input | Supported | Supported | Supported |
| Knowledge Cutoff | Not public | 2026-02-16 | May 2026 |
| Openness | MIT open-source, weights available for download | Closed-source | Closed-source |
| API Model Identifier | deepseek-flash | gpt-5.6-sol (alias for gpt-5.6) | claude-opus-5 |
The three vendors highlight differentiated selling points in official publications. DeepSeek centers its messaging around stronger capability, higher speed and lower cost, focusing on architectural innovation and cost optimization. OpenAI describes GPT-5.6 Sol as its most powerful model to date, and the model with the strongest network security performance. For the first time, OpenAI replaces single version naming with stable tiered releases: Sol, Terra and Luna. Anthropic frames Opus 5 as the preferred model for complex Agent workflows and enterprise operations. Official documents recommend most workloads start with Opus 5, while users upgrade to Fable 5.1 only when high reasoning intensity is required.
Architecture Routes: One Fully Disclosed Design, Two Black-box Models
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash is the only model of the three with publicly released structural details. It uses a Causal Encoder-Decoder (CED) asymmetric design, which activates different scales of parameters for input encoding and output decoding phases. This design targets Agent workloads where input volume is far larger than generated output content.
Key structural features outlined in DeepSeek’s technical report:
- Input encoding activates 8B parameters for every token, while output decoding activates 16B parameters. This design optimizes scenarios where input content greatly exceeds generated output for Agent tasks.
- Global KV Cache is compressed to 890 bytes per token, roughly one-fourth the size from the prior-generation V4 Flash, and 437 times smaller compared to the original DeepSeek model.
- 40 layers, 384 routed experts plus one shared expert. Each token activates 6 experts with FP4 expert weight storage.
- Pre-training corpus includes 45 trillion multi-modal tokens.
GPT-5.6 Sol and Claude Opus 5 do not publish full parameter counts or internal architecture. Available public information shows GPT-5.6 Sol introduces new max reasoning intensity and sub-agent calling capabilities via the ultra framework. It leverages Cerebras chips to deliver up to 750 tokens per second under the Ultrafast service tier. Claude Opus 5 adopts Adaptive Thinking. Its default reasoning intensity is set to high, delivering 2.5 times faster inference and double the speed of Faster mode.
The transparency of architecture impacts two critical capabilities: internal optimization customization and targeted tuning for specialized workloads. This distinction creates the most fundamental difference between V4.1 Flash and the two closed-source models in enterprise selection practice.
Benchmark Comparison: Parity on Medium Agent Coding, Opus 5 Leads in High-Difficulty Reasoning
The unified testing conducted in DeepSeek’s technical report 3 shows the three models achieve scores of 74.2, 73.0 and 74.0 on DeepSWE v1.1. Results fall within the error margin. All tests below run models at maximum reasoning intensity.
| Benchmark | Claude Opus 5 | GPT-5.6 Sol | DeepSeek V4.1 Flash |
|---|---|---|---|
| DeepSWE v1.1 (Software Engineering) | 74.0 | 73.0 | 74.2 |
| Terminal-Bench 2.1 (Command-line Agent) | 89.1 | 88.8 | 90.6 |
| Terminal-Bench 4.0 | 51.8 | 39.9 | 31.2 |
| NL2Repo-Bench (From requirement to repository) | 75.3 | 56.8 | 65.4 |
| Automation-Bench (Automated workflow) | 50.3 | 45.8 | 54.8 |
| Agents' Last Exam | 28.6 | 26.7 | 31.8 |
| GPQA Diamond (Graduate-level science Q&A) | 93.4 | 94.1 | 90.9 |
| HLE (Humanity’s Last Exam) | 56.3 | 44.5 | 36.8 |
| HLE Tool | 63.6 | — | 63.9 |
| CyberGym (Security) | — | 84.5 | 88.1 |
| SEC-Bench Pro | — | 74.3 | 62.8 |
| BabyVision Tool (Vision) | 94.1 | 88.9 | 89.6 |
| Chartography Tool (Chart analysis) | 84.0 | 79.9 | 78.9 |
Three core conclusions emerge from benchmark results:
- Medium-complexity Agent tasks have reached parity. DeepSeek V4.1 Flash slightly outperforms the other two models on DeepSWE v1.1, Terminal-Bench 2.1 and Automation-Bench, with score gaps within 3 points.
- As task difficulty rises, closed-source flagship models gain stronger advantages. On Terminal-Bench 4.0, Opus 5 exceeds V4.1 Flash by more than 20 points. Opus 5 holds a 20-point lead on HLE and roughly 10 points on NL2Repo-Bench.
- Vision Agent capability remains the weak point of open-source models. Opus 5 achieves approximately 5-point higher scores on BabyVision and Chartography benchmarks. DeepSeek’s official report also acknowledges that vision Agent performance lags behind closed-source alternatives.
Important notes: All benchmark data above are single-party tests published by DeepSeek. Benchmarks released by OpenAI and Anthropic adopt relative evaluation statements. OpenAI states GPT-5.6 Sol sets new state-of-the-art results on Terminal-Bench 2.1. Anthropic claims Opus 3 achieves 3x the performance of previous generation models on ARC-AGI 3, while its OSWorld 2.0 cost is one-third of Fable 5. Direct combination of benchmark numbers across vendors is not feasible due to inconsistent testing protocols.
Pricing Comparison: Similar Agent Scores, Pricing Differ by One Order of Magnitude
The table below is compiled from official pricing data dated September 11, 2026. DeepSeek V4.1 Flash charges 8 US dollars per million tokens during peak hours for output. GPT-5.6 Sol charges 20 US dollars per million output tokens, and Claude Opus 5 charges 25 US dollars per million output tokens.
| Billing Item (per million tokens) | DeepSeek V4.1 Flash | GPT-5.6 Sol | Claude Opus 5 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Input (cache miss) | Peak: $2 / Off-peak: $1 | $4 | $5 |
| Input (cache hit) | Peak: $0.04 / Off-peak: $0.02 | $0.4 | $0.5 (10% base price) |
| Output | Peak: $8 / Off-peak: $4 | $20 | $25 |
| Batch Discount | None, replaced by off-peak half price | 50% | 50% |
| Extra charge for ultra-long context | None | Input over 272K multiplies input price by 2x, output price by1.5x | No official long-context pricing published |
| Acceleration Tier | None | Ultrafast (limited preview, undisclosed price) | Fast mode, 2x base price |
| Concurrent Limit | 2500 | Subject to account tier | Subject to account tier |
Additional pricing notes:
- GPT-5.6 Sol’s current $4 / $20 pricing is promotional. Official documentation states the promotion will last at least until November 21, 2026. The original preview price announced in June was $5 / $30. The model on 4sapi started at $2 / $10 starting August 17.
- Using an exchange rate of 7.1 CNY per US dollar, V4.1 Flash peak pricing is only 4.5% of Opus 5, and off-peak pricing drops to 2.3%. Even with cache-hit input which dominates Agent workloads, V4.1 Flash’s $0.04 is roughly 90 times cheaper than Opus 5’s $0.5.
- DeepSeek defines off-peak hours as all time outside Monday to Friday 9:00–12:00 and 14:00–18:00 Beijing time. It covers weekends and overnight batch processing, making it highly valuable for offline evaluation scenarios.
The Terminal-Bench 2.1 results ranging from 89 to 90 demonstrate a typical case: near-identical task success rates with a 25x pricing gap. However, gaps on Terminal-Bench 4.0 and HLE remind practitioners that higher payment for high-difficulty tasks translates to higher task completion success rates.
Reasoning Intensity: All Three Vendors Expose The Same Tuning Knob
All three models provide adjustable reasoning intensity controls, allowing developers to balance result precision and token consumption. This feature becomes a shared characteristic of 2026 flagship models.
| Item | DeepSeek V4.1 Flash | GPT-5.6 Sol | Claude Opus 5 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tiers | low / high / max (mapping internal effort 50 /75 /100) | none / low / medium / high / xhigh | effort parameter, default high |
| Default Setting | Reasoning enabled | medium | high |
| Public Quantification Data | Effort range from 25 to 100. Average accuracy from 67.1% to76.3% on 8 benchmark suites, output token volume roughly multiplied by 2.5 | No full curve released | Customer benchmark: reasoning token consumption for one trading task is about 1/17 of Opus 4.8 |
DeepSeek publishes the complete precision-cost curve among the three vendors. Setting effort between 60 and 80 allows users to recover most performance gains with less than half the token budget. This data provides valuable reference for engineering teams tuning model parameters under fixed token budgets.
Ecosystem and Integration: Divergent Compatibility and Platform Coverage
All three models support OpenAI compatible API schema and tool invocation. Integration costs mainly stem from framework adaptation and regional availability.
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash
- Official API provides both OpenAI schema (api.deepseek.com) and Anthropic schema (api.deepseek.com/anthropic), supporting direct integration into tools built for Claude Code.
- Technical reports show scores ranging from 65.5 to74.2 across six harness frameworks: Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode, Pi, mini-SWE and DeepSeek Harness, on DeepSWE v1.1. Results do not lock performance to a single harness implementation.
- Tencent WorkBuddy, CodeBuddy and OpenCode have completed official integration. OpenRouter launched deepseek/deepseek-v4.1-flash.
GPT-5.6 Sol
- Supports Chat Completions, Responses and Batch endpoints. It does not support Realtime, Assistants and Micro endpoints.
- Native Codex support, including ultra sub-agent mode.
- Preview release in June was limited to a small group of trusted partners under US government requirements. Full public availability started July 9. GPT-5.6 Cyber was released August 10 for security scenarios.
Claude Opus 5
- Available via Claude API, Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud Vertex AI and Microsoft Foundry. Unified model ID claude-opus-5.
- Supports Message Batches API, with beta capability up to 300K output.
- Official commitment that the model will not be deprecated before July 2027.
For Chinese users, practical accessibility differs greatly between the three models. V4.1 Flash supports official API access or private deployment with downloaded weights. The other two require overseas cloud accounts or third-party API gateway access.
Security and Compliance: Three Distinct Boundaries
All three models deliver upgrades in network security capability, while each comes with different built-in constraints.
- GPT-5.6 Sol: OpenAI states it has not fully resolved all security risks within its guardrails. It implements strict layered protection. Real-time classifiers may pause and terminate model output when detecting high-risk content.
- Claude Opus 5: Anthropic admits its performance on offensive cybersecurity and bioscience scenarios lags behind Mythus 5. It introduces network task filters. Its security classifier intervention rate drops to 85% of Fable 5. Requests flagged by filters roll back to Opus 4.8 in Claude AI and Claude Code.
- DeepSeek V4.1 Flash: Its report ranks it best among open-source models on CyberGym benchmarks. Under the MIT license, side classifiers are not required. Compliance responsibility shifts to self-hosting operators.
For enterprise users, security for closed-source models relies on vendor-side guardrails. Open-source model security depends on self-built audit and permission control systems.
Model Selection Recommendations
Based on task complexity and budget constraints, applicable boundaries for these three models can be summarized into three statements.
- Medium-complexity Agent programming, batch code generation and cost-sensitive scenarios: Choose DeepSeek V4.1 Flash. Terminal-Bench 2.1 and DeepSWE v1.1 results match closed-source flagship models, and its pricing is roughly 2% of Opus 5. Private deployment is also available.
- Command-line agent workloads, fast iteration and batch self-hosting: Select GPT-5.6 Sol. Its Ultrafast service tier delivers 750 tokens per second, and the ultra sub-agent capability is currently exclusive. Promotional pricing remains valid until November 21.
- High-difficulty multi-step reasoning, requirement-to-repository workflows, vision-intensive Agent and multi-cloud compliance requirements: Select Claude Opus 5. It holds a 10 to 20-point lead on Terminal-Bench4.0, NL2Repo-Bench and HLE. Four major cloud channels provide access.
Hybrid routing architecture is the practical solution for most production environments. Use V4.1 Flash to handle most regular requests, and route failed retries or high-difficulty tasks to Opus5 or GPT-5.6 Sol. This approach balances overall cost and task success rate.
Common FAQ
Why benchmark data only cites DeepSeek published reports?
Each vendor uses its own test harness. The three models cannot run on identical test frameworks simultaneously. Readers should treat DeepSeek results as controlled single-vendor testing, and treat official OpenAI and Anthropic pages as relative descriptions rather than absolute benchmark comparisons.
How long will GPT-5.6 Sol promotional pricing last?
OpenAI developer documentation marks promotional pricing valid through November 21, 2026. Preview pricing published June 26 was $5 / $30. OpenRouter listed $2 / $10 for the model starting August 17.
What is the relationship between Claude Opus 5 and Fable 5.1?
Anthropic positions Opus 5 as the starting point for most workloads. Fable5.1 doubles pricing at $10 / $50, targeting high-difficulty reasoning and long-context Agent tasks. Their maximum input context window remains 1M tokens.
Can DeepSeek V4.1 Flash replace Opus 5 for code auditing?
For DeepSWE v1.1 coding tasks, V4.1 Flash achieves comparable scores of 74.2 versus Opus 5’s 74.0. But on NL2Repo-Bench which builds full repository logic, Opus5 leads by roughly 10 points, and more than 20 points on Terminal-Bench4.0. Retain closed-source models as upgrade options for high-difficulty tasks.
Are long-context extra charges the same for the three models when input exceeds 272K?
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash does not apply extra long-context surcharges. GPT-5.6 Sol multiplies input cost by 2 and output cost by1.5 when input exceeds 272K. Claude Opus 5 has separate long-context pricing rules not fully published.
Conclusion
The three flagship models released in 2026 show clear stratification in practical capability. DeepSeek V4.1 Flash maintains nearly equivalent scores on medium Agent tasks, with its price reduced to roughly 4% of Opus 5. GPT-5.6 Sol differentiates itself via speed and security capabilities. Claude Opus 5 holds a persistent lead of 10 to 20 points on high-difficulty reasoning and vision benchmarks.
Benchmark data cited in this article comes from DeepSeek V4.1 Flash technical report released September 10, 2026. Pricing and API specifications reference vendor announcements, OpenRouter model API and procurement data collected up to September 11, 2026.
International access: https://4sapi.com
Domestic access: https://4sapi.cn




